City Council


One Mayor and eight Councilmen make up the Governing Body. Individually, the Mayor and Councilmen are equal and have no official powers unless they are acting as a body. The Mayor presides over meetings and does have some “official” capacity such as making board appointments and declaring Proclamations. Only as a “governing body” can policy be made or changed.


  • 6 p.m.
  • 2nd and 4th Mondays of every month
  • Riverside Park Community Building
    510 Park Ave
    Iola, KS 66749

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Front Left to Right: Nickolas Kinder, Steve French, Nancy Ford, Mayor Jonathan Wells, and Eugene Myrick. Back: Kim Peterson, Mark Peters, Carl Slaugh, and Ronald Ballard II.

01132020 Council

City Council Requirements

Citizens of Iola who are registered voters and over the age of 18 may file and pay a $10 fee to place their name on the ballot for the City Council. There are no other requirements other than filing a statement of financial interests.

Term of Office

The Mayor is elected for a two-year term.

The Council members are each elected for four-year terms on a staggered schedule.

  1. Jonathan Wells

    Jonathan Wells


  1. Nancy Ford

    Nancy Ford

    Council President, Ward 1

  1. Nickolas Kinder

    Nickolas Kinder

    Council Member, Ward 1

  1. Ronald Ballard II

    Ronald Ballard II

    Council Member, Ward 2

  1. Carl Slaugh

    Carl Slaugh

    Council Member, Ward 2

  1. Eugene Myrick

    Eugene Myrick

    Council Member, Ward 3

  1. Kim Peterson

    Kim Peterson

    Council Member, Ward 3

  1. Steve French

    Steve French

    Council Member, Ward 4

  1. Mark Peters

    Mark Peters

    Council Member, Ward 4